Singapore extends VTL to Thailand, Maldives, Turkey, Cambodia, Fiji & Sri Lanka

The Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) has today announced the extension of the all-purpose Vaccinated travel lanes (VTL) – linking capitals of countries to Singapore – to include 6 more countries. The six countries include Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Turkey.

As per the CAAS: “Travellers from Thailand may enter Singapore under the VTL from 14 December 2021.”

“Travellers from Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey may enter Singapore under the VTL from 16 December 2021.”

“Under the VTL, fully vaccinated travellers from VTL countries may enter Singapore without quarantine and just need to undergo COVID-19 testing. With this latest extension, the VTL quota will be increased from 10,000 to 15,000 travellers daily.”

“Cambodia, Maldives, Sri Lanka, and Thailand – Pre-COVID, these were popular tourist destinations for Singaporeans. These countries have opened their borders to quarantine-free general travel for vaccinated travellers. Most recently, Thailand reopened its borders to vaccinated travellers from over 60 countries/ regions including Singapore from 1 November 2021. Similarly, Cambodia also reopened its borders to all vaccinated travellers from 15 November 2021.”

“Turkey – Turkey is already open to quarantine-free vaccinated travel from Singapore. The extension of VTL to Turkey will enable us to connect with another major aviation hub.”

This latest move will increase the total number of VTL countries from 21 to 27.

As of date, active VTL’s include Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Denmark, Germany, France, Italy, the Netherlands, the Republic of Korea, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

From 29 November, the VTL’s will include Finland, India, Indonesia, Malaysia and Sweden.

From 6 December, the VTL’s will include Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

From 14 December, the VTL’s will include Thailand.

From 15 December, the VTL’s will include Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey. ◼

Article source